Civil Service Commission

The Civil Service Commission works to ensure that recruitment, selection and placement of uniformed firefighters and all police personnel below the level of chief are made in a fair and unbiased process.

The commission also investigates in public hearings the suspension, demotion and/or the discharge of a member of the Civil Service at the member's request, to determine whether such action was or was not made for political or religious reasons and was or was not made in good faith for cause.

The commission is composed of five (5) members appointed by the city manager. The term for all positions on the commission is six (6) years, and expires on May 31 of the last year of the term.

A member must be a Bellevue resident during the appointment, and may be appointed to a maximum of two (2) consecutive terms.


TBD, Chair
Linda Parrish, Vice Chair (term ends 5/31/23)
Anne Noris (term ends 5/31/23)
Linda Parrish (term ends 5/31/23)
Patricia Sheffels (term ends 5/31/23)
Jeff Jorgenson (term ends 5/31/23)
Martin Acevedo (term ends 5/31/22)

Regular Meetings

Regular meetings are held quarterly on the second Tuesday in January, April, July, and October from 4-5 p.m. at City Hall Conference Room 1E-109.


Further information about the commission and civil service rules is contained in the Bellevue City Code Ch. 3.72 and Civil Service Rules.

For further reference in RCW: Civil Service for City Police and Civil Service for City Firefighters