• Transportation Commission

    Header Image
    traffic on main street with blurry lights1600x400.jpg

    The Transportation Commission advises the City Council on transportation-related issues. Members are responsible for studies, analyses and reports required by the Traffic Standards Code, or requested by the City Council.

    Commissioners review and make recommendations to the Council on topics such as:

    • Transportation Facilities Plan (preparation, progress, implementation)
    • Changes to the Traffic Standard Code
    • Long- and short-range funding programs for transportation facilities
    • Short-term planning studies and implementation programs
    • Bikeway/pedestrian planning and implementation programs
    • Capital Investment Program and Transportation Improvement Program project prioritization
    • Long-range planning, including work with the Planning Commission, to amend the Comprehensive Plan and subarea plans.

    The current City Council liaison to the Transportation Commission is Councilmember Janice Zahn. The Executive Secretary is Kevin McDonald, a principal planner in the Transportation Department.

      The next meeting will be July 14, 2022 at 6:30 pm.

      Transportation Commission meetings are conducted in a hybrid manner with both in-person and virtual options. To speak at the meeting, you may attend:

      • In-person

      • By calling (253) 215-8782 and entering Webinar ID: 822 8675 0732; or

      • www.zoom.us and entering Webinar ID: 822 8675 0732, Password: 806335

      Meetings: Virtual or In-person

      Regular meetings are scheduled for the second Thursday of the month at 6:30 p.m.  For details on how to access the meetings, check the Transportation Commission meeting agenda for the specific meeting you wish to attend. An additional monthly meeting may be needed if the commission's workload warrants it, in which case it will be held on the fourth Thursday of the month. In-person meetings are held in City Hall Conference Room 1E-113. 


      The Transportation Commission is comprised of seven Bellevue residents who are appointed by the mayor with the concurrence of the City Council. The terms are four years and expire May 31 of the last year of the term. No one can serve more than two consecutive terms, provided a person appointed to fill an unexpired term of two years or less is eligible to serve two successive four-year terms. 

      Transportation Commission Members
      Receive email notification when this page is updated.