State law (Revised Code of Washington 4.24.550) authorizes law enforcement agencies to release information about sex offenders in their jurisdictions when they determine that the information is necessary to protect the public. The information made available, as well as where and how the information is disseminated, is set forth in RCW 4.24.
Sex offenders residing in Bellevue are required to register with the King County Sheriff. The Bellevue Police will release the approximate number of offenders. To counteract the danger created by particular offenders considered to have a high or moderate risk to re-offend, the department will share additional relevant and necessary information about them. The Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs (WASPC) offers more details about registered sex offenders.
Updated August 2022
There are 77 registered sex offenders living in Bellevue. See the classifications below. Level II and III Registered Sex Offenders
High-risk (risk level III) sex offenders
There are three high-risk to re-offend sex offenders registered.
Moderate-risk (risk level II) sex offenders
There are seven moderate-risk to re-offend sex offenders registered in Bellevue. Additional information on moderate-risk sex offenders may be obtained from the King County Sheriff's Office.
Homeless sex offenders
There are five sex offenders registered as homeless in Bellevue. Homeless sex offenders register as "homeless," with Bellevue as a contact point.
There are no kidnapping offenders registered in Bellevue. State law allows for the release of the same amount of information about kidnapping offenders as high-risk sex offenders.
Frequently Asked Questions about Sex Offenders
Who is a sex offender?
A person convicted of a sex offense as defined by the Revised Code of Washington 9.94A.030, 9A.44.096, 9.68A.090, 9A.28, 9.94A.030 or 9A.40. Sex offenders also include anyone convicted out-of-state for an offense that under the laws of this state would be classified as a sex or kidnapping offense.
Who must register as a sex offender?
Any adult or juvenile who has been convicted of a sex or kidnapping offense after Feb. 28, 1990, or who is on active supervision for a sex offense or who has been committed as a sexually violent predator, or who has been found not guilty by reason of insanity of committing any sex or kidnapping offense.
How long must a sex offender continue to register?
- Class A Felony: May stop registering only upon the order of the Superior Court.
- Class B Felony: 15 years from the date of release or entry of the judgment and sentence, if the person has spent 15 consecutive years in the community without being convicted of any new offenses.
- Class C Felony: 10 years from the date of release from confinement of entry of the judgment and sentence, if the person has spent 10 consecutive years in the community without being convicted of any new offenses.
- Gross Misdemeanor: 10 years from the date of release from confinement of entry of the judgment and sentence, if the person has spent 10 consecutive years in the community without being convicted of any new offenses. (Same as Class C Felony)
- Petition of Court: Any person having the duty to register, or an offender having the duty to register for a sex offense when the offender was a juvenile, may petition the superior court to be relieved of that duty.
Who decides where a sex offender may live?
The Bellevue Police Department has no legal authority to direct where sex offenders may or may not live. Unless court-ordered restrictions exist, the offender is constitutionally free to live wherever he or she chooses.
Under what authority is sex offender information released to the public?
The Bellevue Police Department releases sex offender information pursuant to Revised Code of Washington 4.24.550, which authorizes law enforcement to release information to the public regarding sex offenders when the agency determines that disclosure of information is relevant and necessary to protect the public and to counteract the danger created by the particular offender. The content of the information made available, as well as where and how the information is disseminated, is restricted to the standards set forth in Chapter 4.24 and by the Washington State Supreme Court ruling in State v. Ward, 123 Wa 2d 488 (1994).
This notification is not intended to increase fear; rather it is our belief that an informed public is a safer public.
What steps should I take to protect my family?
Sex offenders, including those who live in the community and haven't satisfied their obligations to register, have always been with us. Personal safety questions can be answered by the Bellevue Crime Prevention Office at 425-452-6915. Specific safety tips can be found here: Safety Tips
Who can I call to get more information about sex offenders?
The Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs operates a statewide Sex Offender Notification and Resource Center. If you have specific questions, you may contact the Bellevue Police Department (contact information in the right column) during business hours.