Popular Pages How Do I... Apply Check Status Find Get Involved Pay Report Request See About Bellevue City Profile Economic
Human Services Neighborhoods Planning Initiatives Accessibility City Hall Emergency City Government Departments Public Safety Publications Services A-Z
Available Languages

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, February 7, 2017

Council selects finalists to interview for vacant seat

During Monday night's abbreviated meeting due to weather, the City Council chose eight candidates to interview for the seat vacated by Vandana Slatter.

The candidates, selected from among 43 city residents who applied for the seat, will be interviewed during public session at the Monday, Feb. 13, council meeting at City Hall.

The eight candidates chosen were, in alphabetical order:

  • Grant Degginger
  • John deVadoss
  • Aaron Laing
  • Scott Lampe
  • Jared Nieuwenhuis
  • Ernie Simas
  • Stephanie Walter
  • Janice Zahn

The council is expected to make the appointment by the end of February.

The successful candidate's term will run through certification of the November General Election. The ballot for the November General election will include the Position 5 seat along with the Positions 2, 4 and 6. The elected councilmember for Position 5 term would be sworn in once the election is certified by King County Elections through the original term date of Dec. 31, 2019.

To be eligible to serve on the council, applicants must be a Bellevue resident for one year and be a registered voter.

The Position 5 seat became available when Vandana Slatter resigned after being appointed by the King County Council to represent the 48th Legislative District in the Washington State House of Representatives. Her resignation became effective Jan. 14.

Bellevue operates under a council-manager form of government, with the council selecting a city manager who oversees all city operations. The Bellevue City Council is made up of seven councilmembers who are elected at-large and serve staggered four-year terms. The councilmembers, in turn, select a mayor and deputy mayor from among themselves.

Return to News Release Index

Contact Information

450 110th Ave. NE
P.O. Box 90012
Bellevue, WA 98009
Contact: Lenka Wright, Chief Communications Officer
Phone: 425-452-4090
E-mail: lwright@bellevuewa.gov

Customer Assistance